RSS

On the pavement…

24 Mar

 

Image

My home is close to my university. I can walk to it every day and even enjoy wandering in the morning hours. I can easily find a taxi in my way back as the distance is somehow short, and my Shekel will be a nice chance for the driver.

Just today, I went back with my friend after having an exam finished at 4 pm. We stopped at the crossroad waiting for a taxi for her. We had to wait for about 30 minutes until she found one.

Well, this was the first time I feel the difficulty they suffer everyday’s morning and afternoon. My friend and I were looking at the coming taxis with hopeful eyes, the hope of which was chipping after the taxi passes leaving us with more than other 20 boys and girls before the pavement trying to fix our hope again.

30 minutes were enough to teach me a lot of things…

Just when we feel we are all the same, we can do what we have never done. Gaza people, those stubborn minds, were sitting in the taxis in fours in the back seat, and twos in the front one. at first, they were complaining, but once they go into the taxi, they forget about the crowded car, praising God they were lucky to find one!

My friend, who studies and woks as a special teacher at the same time, found herself forced to pay the taxi fare doubled, as she wanted to wait no more!

I looked at these long lines of people; they go into waiting same experience twice a day. I thought of  students who may miss their exams waiting for a taxi, teachers who are thinking of their classes they’ll be late for, mothers who are thinking of their kids they have to bring from their kindergarten before it closes its doors, men who are thinking of their work and their tough managers who may deduct from their salary for being late, and even the taxi drivers who are thinking of those long queues of people on both sides of the road and the best way they may find to keep the fuel they hardly got as long as possible!

30 minutes of waiting…

I thought about Gaza, where everything becomes a subject of writing, even things supposed to pass very fast! Gaza, where you can ponder in quickness, you can write with your tears, where you may smile despite of everything, where you miss clean air which is not suffocating with power engines smoke, where you find a matter of irony in every minute detail, but still where you CANNOT SEE IN DARKNESS !   

Image

Image

 

6 responses to “On the pavement…

  1. ameer h anan

    March 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    good post
    specially because it in English language
    well done

     
    • Ruba Monzir

      March 25, 2012 at 12:00 pm

      welcome Ameer
      everything here is in English😀
      I’m happy for your reading ..

       
  2. khalilok

    March 25, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Ruba, please keep writing.. You have such a talent!
    Looking forward to reading your next piece.. When you’ll have electricity🙂

     
    • Ruba Monzir

      March 25, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      welcome Khalil
      I’m very happy for your comment
      and don’t worry, I will🙂

       
  3. أتنفس أملا

    March 26, 2012 at 10:24 am


    like it Ruba🙂
    so nice ..

     
    • Ruba Monzir

      March 26, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      welcome Hana ,
      Happy for this nice comment
      thanks dear🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
