RSS

For Jerusalem, I blog

07 Feb

I dream of visiting Jerusalem

My brother had an English course at AMIDEAST  in Gaza and they once had a writing competition. The miss asked them to write an essay on “what do you like about American culture”. The best two essays will be rewarded with a visit to Jerusalem! That seemed like a great dream was finding its way to become an experience.

He wrote, and I was very concerned to help him edit his essay and revise it. We stayed waked up all night to make it as neat as we can. Next days, the miss told him she found no mistakes in the essay even in punctuation. With a shining face, he went home telling us he had the chance to visit Jerusalem.

I was extremely happy that I helped him achieve such a dream. I thought for a while, even when we want to visit Jerusalem, our own land, we have to talk about the goodness of America.

My brother asked me, “What do you want me to bring you from Jerusalem?” I said, “a small stone, a handful of sand, and some trees leaves”. I wanted anything to smell Jerusalem!

I dream of visiting Jerusalem although I live in the same country it exists!

I dream of visiting Jerusalem although it is only 79 kilometers far from Gaza!

I dream of visiting Jerusalem when I know visiting any other place on earth is much easier!

That reward, from that American institution, is not a reward in fact. It is supposed to be a normal thing we can do every Friday..!

My brother went back bringing me some leaves and a medal shaped like the map of Palestine and “Handala” ..

and I’m still dreaming of visiting Jerusalem..

Image

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Being a Gazan

 

3 responses to “For Jerusalem, I blog

  1. hana

    February 7, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    niceee Ruba🙂

     
  2. wesam

    April 29, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Really Nice Words I hope that your dreme come true and i hope that u go to jerusalem one day well i had the chance to go to jerusalem with your brother Amr and really our land is very beautiful and its un fair that we cant go there any time we want😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
