RSS

My First Day of My Last Year

11 Sep

.

The last night elapsed too slowly. I was looking to the watch, as if its pointers were sticking for 20 minutes whenever they move to announce a new second!

I was drowning in my pessimistic thoughts, thinking of every single small aspect of that new semester.

Every thing would be different.

It will be my first day of my last year in university. I said to myself: it will be the same with the last day, nothing differs, as I believe whenever things start, they end!!

That night was my friend’s wedding. I had to feel happy but I didn’t. Instead, I felt very sad. She is the one who I trust at the department. We were always together, in lectures, in having breakfast, in assignments, shopping and many other things! But now I may feel alone, especially in classes!

I was totally taken with my bleak thoughts, wiping my tears away all the night, negotiating with them to stop and let me sleep, but they were very stubborn..!

I didn’t know how I finally closed my eyes and slept emotionlessly! I woke up, looked at my pale face in the mirror. I was shocked to see my eyes! They have become two red swollen things for which I had to wait for some time to return natural eyes!!

I washed my face and waited a little bit till every thing with my face was okay. I put on my new long Islamic dress (Jelbab), hejab, boots, and bag. Closed the door and walked towards the university which lights of it illuminate my room every night. I can see from my room’s window many of its buildings, many cars, and a rush of students in a scene that reflects an existence of a whole new life every day outside this squared area, with its four walls and artificial stars and moons stacked there!

My wall's sky😀

How much artificial our life could be! Artificial smiles, artificial conversations, artificial beauty…

I decided to welcome that new year with a new version of me, a version with nothing artificial, which I still have to work on to be made as good as I can!

Serving that version demanded me to smile since I entered that big gate of university till I left it going back to home..

Things were much better than I thought of! I was happy to meet my friends who were about to drown in the sea yesterday.. I hugged them and felt it was a great grace that I still can see them and talk to them.

I was pleased to meet my classmates again, to know new professors, and to enjoy the atmosphere of university again..

Some of my friends were not there, for they have graduated, and many thousands of new faces have taken their places. Nothing stays the same!

Nothing could be funnier than a student who attends about the half of a lecture, and then she discovers that she is in the wrong place. Her lecture is supposed to be in the same room number, but in the other building, poor new students!

You can easily recognize those new students. Their eyes are looking for something or somebody most of the time. They are holding their schedules in their hands, looking at it and at the rooms’ numbers!

They also may ask about a building while they are in that building at the moment they ask!

Add that they may ask about the most recognized places in the campus which everybody knows!

Today, I had two classes only, but waited with my friend and helped her registering a course she had a problem with.

Oh yeah, today I knew which school I am going to be a trainee at. I was satisfied; it’s not very far from my home and a governmental one as I wanted.

IUG from my window

We may not be able to write our feelings on papers, but sometimes we feel there are some moments that must be saved.

After I went home, I felt that things may be better than we think. I have to start my new year with high spirits, work hard, and enjoy every single moment of it; I know that an elapsed second can not come back again this year.

Nothing to add, I only wish it would be great year as the image I portrayed for it in my mind.

10/9/2011

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2011 in Scenes of my life

 

9 responses to “My First Day of My Last Year

  1. Israa

    September 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Nice one Ruba, espacially the new students I am still remembering how this day be>>>>>>>>>>>>

     
  2. Esraa Omar

    September 11, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I like it… probably I felt the same, especially this term is my final one, I hope you’ll enjoy this whole year with new classmates, new friends and of course a high grades🙂

     
  3. Ruba Monzir

    September 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    welcome Israa : very happy to find a comment from you, and very happy for your subscription as well .. thank you dear🙂

     
  4. Ruba Monzir

    September 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Esraa Omar: I am lucky to have two Israa’s in the same day😀
    thanks dear for your lovely comment..
    always lighten this place🙂

     
  5. hana

    September 11, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    nice Ruba , like it ^^
    i c sumthing about me😛 hahah
    keep this up dear❤

     
    • Ruba Monzir

      September 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      welcome Hana ,, yes there is sth about you hhhhh
      thanks for reading honey🙂

       
  6. a7madtalk

    September 13, 2011 at 4:21 am

    I wish you luck especially in your final term , and I hope to achieve your dreams

    i’m very happy to be here in your blog …

    go ahead😀

     
    • Ruba Monzir

      September 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      welcome Ahmad , thank you for being here and reading .. and I am so pleased for your presence🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
